This document is for strictly personal use only. No public use may be made, including in the course of teaching, without the prior consent of the author.

Staff

The staff is a set of horizontal lines on which are written the musical notes.

Lines and spaces

A staff is usually composed of 5 horizontal lines.

In some particular cases, we can find staves whose number of lines differs. For example, percussionists often use single-line staves. However, the 5-line staff remains the standard to know, whatever the instrument played.

FIGURE 1 - Standard 5-line staff

Music notes can be written on a line or on a space (i.e. between two lines).

FIGURE 2 - Lines and spaces
Notes on the lines Notes between the lines

Reading direction

Vertical axis

The vertical axis represents the pitch scale of the sounds: the bass notes are at the bottom of the staff, the treble notes at the top. When the notes go from bass to treble, we say that the direction is ascending. When the notes go from treble to bass, we say that the direction is descending.

FIGURE 3 - Ascending and descending direction
Ascending direction (from bass to treble) Descending direction (from treble to bass)

Horizontal axis

The horizontal axis represents the timeline. The notes are disposed one after the other, from left to right. If several notes have to be played at the same time, they will be written on top of each other.

FIGURE 4 - Music read from left to right and from bottom to top
Notes read and played one after the other Notes read from the bottom up, played simultaneously

The music is read from bottom to top and from left to right.

A common mistake for beginners is to read the notes from top to bottom, simply because we are used to reading a text starting from the top. However, take as soon as possible the habit of reading the notes from the bottom up (i.e. from bass to treble). If you practice an instrument that requires several staves (a keyboard instrument like the piano for example), it is also important to read the notes starting with the lower staff then the upper staff.

Reading clefs

To determine the name of the notes written on a staff, it is necessary to place a clef at the beginning of the staff. This clef associates a line with a reference note and thus makes it possible to deduce the other notes written on the staff.

For example, the treble clef (G clef) assigns the G note to the 2nd line of the staff. Thus, all the other notes can be deduced following the scale order.

FIGURE 5 - The Treble clef (or G clef)
Treble Clef The g is placed onthe 2nd line of the staff From the g, we find the names of the other notesby following the scale in the ascending direction(c, d, e, f, g, a, b, c, etc.) To go down, just take the notesof the scale in the downward direction(c, b, a, g, f, e, d, c)

Last update on 2018/12/03

Printing for premium user only !

Print this course with a high quality layout by subscribing at www.musiclever.com

Do you master the concepts discussed in this lesson?

Report a bug or an issue

Ce document est réservé à un usage strictement privé. Aucune utilisation publique ne peut être effectuée, y compris dans le cadre d'un enseignement, sans le consentement préalable de l'auteur.

La portée

La portée est un ensemble de lignes horizontales sur lesquelles sont inscrites les notes de musique.

Lignes et interlignes

Une portée est en général composée de 5 lignes horizontales.

Dans certains cas particuliers, on pourra rencontrer des portées dont le nombre de lignes diffère. Par exemple, les percussionnistes utilisent souvent des portées à une ligne. Cependant, la portée à 5 lignes reste le standard à connaitre, quelque soit l'instrument pratiqué.

FIGURE 1 - Portée standard à 5 lignes

L’espace situé entre deux lignes s’appelle un interligne. Les notes de musique peuvent être écrites sur une ligne ou sur un interligne.

FIGURE 2 - Lignes et interlignes
Notes disposées sur les lignes Notes disposées sur les interlignes

Sens de lecture

Axe vertical

L’axe vertical représente l’échelle de hauteur des sons : les notes graves se trouvent en bas de la portée, les notes aigües en haut. Lorsque les notes vont du grave vers l'aigu, on dit que le sens est ascendant. Lorsque les notes vont de l'aigu vers le grave, on dit que le sens est descendant.

FIGURE 3 - Sens ascendant et descendant
Sens ascendant (du grave vers l'aigu) Sens descendant (de l'aigu vers le grave)

Axe horizontal

L’axe horizontal représente le temps. Les notes sont disposées les unes après les autres, de la gauche vers la droite. Si plusieurs notes doivent être jouées en même temps, elles seront notées les unes sur les autres.

FIGURE 4 - Lecture des notes de la gauche vers la droite et du bas vers le haut
Notes lues et jouées les une à la suite des autres Notes lues du bas vers le haut à jouer simultanément

La musique se lit donc du bas vers le haut et de la gauche vers la droite.

Une erreur fréquente de la part des débutants est de lire les notes du haut vers le bas, tout simplement parce que nous sommes habitués à lire un texte en commençant par le haut. Cependant, prenez dès que possible l'habitude de lire les notes du bas vers le haut (c'est-à-dire du grave vers l'aigu). Si vous pratiquez un instrument qui nécessite plusieurs portées (un instrument à clavier comme le piano par exemple), il est également important de lire les notes en commençant par la portée inférieure puis la portée supérieure.

Clef de lecture

Pour déterminer le nom des notes inscrites sur une portée, il est nécessaire de placer une clef en début de portée. Cette clef associe une ligne à une note de référence et permet ainsi de déduire les autres notes de la portée.

Par exemple, la clef de sol attribue la note sol à la 2e ligne de la portée. Ainsi, toutes les autres notes peuvent être déduites en suivant l'ordre des notes de la gamme.

FIGURE 5 - La clef de sol
Clef de Sol Le sol est placé surla 2e ligne de la portée À partir du sol, on retrouve le nom des autres notesen suivant la gamme dans le sens ascendant(do, ré, mi, fa, sol, la, si, do, etc.) Pour aller vers le grave, il suffit de prendreles notes de la gamme dans le sens descendant(do, si, la, sol, fa, mi, ré, do)

Dernière mise à jour le 09/12/2016

Impression du cours réservés aux abonnés !

Profitez d'une mise en page de qualité pour l'impression de vos cours favoris en vous abonnant sur www.musiclever.com

Maitrisez-vous les concepts abordés dans cette leçon ?