This document is for strictly personal use only. No public use may be made, including in the course of teaching, without the prior consent of the author.

Pulse and tempo

The pulse is a regular beat. The tempo corresponds to the speed of the pulse.

The pulse

Regular and irregular beats

The pulse is a regular beat, i.e. occuring at regular intervals of time, such as the ticking of a watch. Since this is a beat, we will use the expression "to beat the pulse" .

Pulse

Example of a regular beat

Irregular beat

Example of an irregular beat (this is not a pulse)

To "feel" the pulse is essential to a good performance of the rhythm. The rhythm corresponds to the time placement of the notes. If the musician is not "grounded" on a regular pulse, he will not be able to play rhythm correctly. He will also have difficulty playing with others.

How to train to feel the pulse? The best way to feel the pulse is to beat it. Take a pencil, a stick, or just your hand, and try taping at the same time as excerpt 1. If you can't do this, stand up and try to walk at the pulse speed.

Writing on the staff

In order to facilitate the rhythmic learning of a piece, it may be wise to graphically represent the beats on the staff. This helps to identify where beats "fall". For this, write the pulse using a vertical line under the staff. Notes that are vertically aligned with a pulse line indicate that you must play the note on the beat.

There are always as many pulses in a measure as there are beats. In a piece at  for example, it will be necessary to make sure to write down 3 vertical lines by measure, one under each beat.
Beat notation (simple rhythms)

FIGURE 1 - Simple example of beat notation

Piano

Audio of figure 1 with pulse

On figure 1, all notes are on a beat, except the second eighth of the second measure which is between to beats (between the first and the second beat of the measure). Note also that we are in a 4-beat measure ( meter) so there are 4 pulses per measure.

Beat notation (complex rhythms)

FIGURE 2 - More complex example of beat notation

Bassoon

Audio of figure 2 with pulse

In this second example, the rhythms used are more complex and varied. The usefulness of beat notation is clearly apparent here. Notice that notes are not necessarily beamed by beat: the 4 eighths of the second measure form a group of notes, but last 2 beats. The vertical lines make easier to be aware of the beat positions.

Beat notation (with long notes and rests)

FIGURE 3 - Example of notation of pulsations with long notes and rests

Horn

Audio of figure 3 with pulse

Pulse notation also makes sense when there are rests or long notes ​​in a song. Notice that the second beat of the first measure and the first beat of the second measure are written under rests. However, nothing is harder for a beginner than to wait for the right duration during a rest! The materialization of the beats on the score helps to take this problem into account.

Finally, the pulses allow to correctly execute the long values ​​(whose duration exceeds one quarter). Observe the fourth beat of the first measure. It represents the second pulse of the half note, and thus allows not to shorten its duration.

You will not find sheet music with beats already noted on the market, except if it is specially designed for learning theory or ear training.

The tempo

The speed of the pulse

The speed of the pulse is called the tempo . When the pulse is fast, we say that the tempo is fast, when the pulse is slow, we say that the tempo is slow.

Slow tempo

Example of slow pulse (56 beats per minute)

Moderate tempo

Example of moderate pulse (96 beats per minute)

Fast tempo

Example of fast pulse (140 beats per minute)

Be careful not to confuse tempo and dynamic which are two distinct and totally independent notions (cf. Dynamics)

Tempo indications

Whatever the style, each piece of music has its own tempo, its own speed of execution. In order to specify the tempo of a work, the composer writes down the tempo indication at the beginning of the piece, just above the first measure.

This tempo indication can take several forms: either an movement indication, written out in words, in the language of the composer or in Italian (particularly true in classical music), or a metronomic indication, or both together.

Movement indications

Until the early XIXth century, the metronome does not exist, the composers indicated the movement by Italian expressions commonly used such as Largo, Adagio, Allegro, Presto, etc. Sometimes, for more precision, some composers prefer to note the movement in their native language. Since the invention of the metronome, movement indication is often supported by metronomic movement, but not systematically. It is therefore important to know the most frequently used movement indications in order to easily know the tempo of a work.

FIGURE 4 - Adagio (slow tempo indication)

FIGURE 5 - Allegro (fast tempo indication)

Movement indications frequently used
Italian termsMeaning
LargoLarge, very slow
AdagioSlow, still
AndanteA bit slow but moving
ModeratoModerate
AllegroFast, joyful
PrestoVery fast, in a hurry

Le métronome

The metronome is a tool that produces a stable pulse at the desired speed. Thanks to the metronome, the speed of execution is determined with great precision and it remains the same in all conditions. Originally a pendulum (see photo below), the metronome now exists in electronic format and is very often integrated with digital instruments (such as digital pianos for example).

Pendulum metronome

When and how to use the metronome? The use of the metronome is relevant as soon as you have trouble keeping a stable tempo. As long as you follow it well, listen to it and do not try to go faster than the music! Some beginners have a hard time settle on the metronome and start too fast in the execution of a passage without having taken the time to feel the pulse. So take that time and feel the beats before starting. It is also not necessary to stare at the pendulum of the metronome or the indicator light of an electronic metronome. Use your ears instead!

The metronomic movement

The metronomic movement is defined as the number of beats per minute (bpm). For example, a tempo of 60 bpm corresponds to the speed of the second (because there are 60 seconds in a minute). The higher the number, the faster the tempo. For example, 160 bpm corresponds to a very fast tempo (equivalent of a Presto).

On a score, the metronomic movement is indicated in relation to a note value: rhythm value = x.

Examples of metronomic movement indications

 = 60 indicates a 60 bpm tempo, beats corresponding to quarters.

 = 120 indicates a 120 bpm tempo, beats corresponding to quarters.

 = 80 indicates a tempo of 80 bpm and beats corresponding to half notes. In this last case it will be necessary to multiply the metronomic indication by 2 to obtain the quarter value:  = 80 is equivalent to  = 160.

Sometimes composers will instead give an interval between two values, as in  = 88 ~ 96. This means it will be necessary to interpret this piece at a tempo between 88 and 96 bpm.

FIGURE 6 - Metronomic indication example ( = 40) with an Adagio movement indication

Last update on 2018/12/03

Printing for premium user only !

Print this course with a high quality layout by subscribing at www.musiclever.com

Do you master the concepts discussed in this lesson?

Report a bug or an issue

Ce document est réservé à un usage strictement privé. Aucune utilisation publique ne peut être effectuée, y compris dans le cadre d'un enseignement, sans le consentement préalable de l'auteur.

La pulsation et le tempo

La pulsation est un battement régulier. Le tempo correspond à la vitesse de la pulsation.

La pulsation

Battements réguliers et irréguliers

La pulsation est un battement régulier, c'est-à-dire intervenant à intervalle de temps régulier, comme par exemple le tic-tac d'une montre. Comme il s'agit d'un battement, on emploiera l'expression "battre la pulsation".

EXTRAIT AUDIO - Pulsation

Exemple de battement régulier

EXTRAIT AUDIO - Battement irrégulier

Exemple de battement irrégulier (ceci n'est pas une pulsation)

Bien "sentir" la pulsation est primordial pour la bonne exécution du rythme. Le rythme correspond au placement des notes dans le temps. Si le musicien n'est pas "calé" sur une pulsation régulière, il ne pourra pas jouer en rythme. Il aura également des difficultés lors du jeu avec d'autres instrumentistes.

Comment s'entrainer à sentir la pulsation ? Le meilleur moyen pour sentir la pulsation est de la battre. Prenez un crayon, un bâton ou tout simplement votre main, et essayez de taper en même temps que l'extrait 1. Si vous n'y parvenez pas, mettez vous debout et essayez de marcher à la vitesse de la pulsation.

Notation sur la portée

Afin de faciliter l'apprentissage rythmique d'un morceau, il peut être judicieux de représenter graphiquement la pulsation sur la portée. Ceci permet de bien repérer où "tombent" les temps. Pour cela, on notera la pulsation à l'aide d'un trait vertical sous la portée. Les notes qui sont alignées verticalement avec un trait de pulsation indique qu'il faut jouer la note sur le temps.

Il y a toujours autant de pulsation dans une mesure qu'il y a de temps dans la mesure. Dans une pièce à  par exemple, il faudra bien s'assurer de noter 3 pulsations dans chaque mesure.
Notations des pulsations (rythmes simples)

FIGURE 1 - Exemple simple de notation des pulsations

EXTRAIT AUDIO - Piano

Partition de la figure 1 avec pulsation

Dans la figure 1, toutes les notes sont sur le temps, sauf la deuxième croche de la deuxième mesure qui se trouve entre la première et la deuxième pulsation de la mesure. Remarquez également que nous sommes dans une mesure à 4 temps (chiffrage  ), il y a donc 4 pulsations par mesure.

Notations des pulsations (rythmes plus complexes)

FIGURE 2 - Exemple plus complexe de notation des pulsations

EXTRAIT AUDIO - Basson

Partition de la figure 2 avec pulsation

Dans cette deuxième figure, les rythmes utilisés sont plus complexes et variés. L'utilité de la notation de la pulsation apparait ici clairement. Remarquez que les notes ne sont pas nécessairement ligaturées par temps : les 4 croches de la deuxième mesure forment un groupe de notes, mais durent 2 temps. La pulsation permet de bien se rendre compte de la position des temps.

Notations des pulsations (avec valeur longue et silences)

FIGURE 3 - Exemple de notation des pulsations avec valeur longue et silences

EXTRAIT AUDIO - Cor

Partition de la figure 3 avec pulsation

La notation des pulsations prend également tout son sens lorsqu'il y a des silences ou des valeurs longues dans un morceau. Remarquez que la deuxième pulsation de la première mesure et la première pulsation de la deuxième mesure sont sous des silences. Or, rien n'est plus dur pour un musicien débutant que d'attendre la bonne durée pendant un silence ! La matérialisation des pulsations sur la partition aide à prendre cette problématique en compte.

Enfin, les pulsations permettent d'exécuter correctement les valeurs longues (dont la durée dépasse un temps). Observez la quatrième pulsation de la première mesure. Elle représente le deuxième temps de la blanche, et permet ainsi de ne pas raccourcir sa durée.

Vous ne trouverez pas de partition avec la pulsation déjà notée dans le commerce, sauf sur certains volumes de formation musicale ou à usage didactique.

Le tempo

La vitesse de la pulsation

La vitesse de la pulsation se nomme le tempo. Lorsque la pulsation est rapide, on dira que le tempo est rapide, lorsque la pulsation est lente, on dira que le tempo est lent.

EXTRAIT AUDIO - Tempo lent

Exemple de pulsation lente (56 battements par minutes)

EXTRAIT AUDIO - Tempo modéré

Exemple de pulsation modérée (96 battements par minutes)

EXTRAIT AUDIO - Tempo rapide

Exemple de pulsation rapide (140 battements par minutes)

Attention à ne pas confondre tempo et intensité sonore qui sont deux notions distinctes et totalement indépendantes (cf. Les nuances)

Les indications de tempo

Quelque soit le style considéré, chaque morceau de musique possède son propre tempo, sa propre vitesse d'exécution. Afin de préciser le tempo de l'œuvre, le compositeur inscrit l'indication de tempo en début de morceau, juste au-dessus de la première mesure.

Cette indication de tempo peut prendre plusieurs formes : soit une indication de mouvement, en toutes lettres, dans la langue du compositeur ou en italien (particulièrement vrai en musique classique), soit une indication métronomique, soit les deux réunis.

Indications de mouvement

Jusqu'au début du XIXe siècle, le métronome n'existant pas, les compositeurs indiquaient le mouvement par des expressions italiennes communément utilisées telles que Largo, Adagio, Allegro, Presto, etc. Parfois, pour plus de précision, certains compositeurs préfèrent noter l'indication de mouvement dans leur langue maternelle. Depuis l'invention du métronome, l'indication de mouvement est souvent accompagné du mouvement métronomique, mais pas systématiquement. Il est donc important de connaitre les indications de mouvement les plus fréquemment utilisées afin de pouvoir facilement connaitre le tempo d'une œuvre.

FIGURE 4 - Indication de tempo Adagio (Lent)

FIGURE 5 - Indication de tempo Allegro (Rapide)

Indications de mouvement fréquemment rencontrées
Terme italienSignification en français
LargoLarge
AdagioLent
AndanteAllant
ModeratoModéré
AllegroRapide
PrestoTrès rapide

Le métronome

Le métronome est un outil produisant une pulsation stable à la vitesse désirée. Grâce au métronome, la vitesse d'exécution est derminée avec grande précision et elle demeure la même en toute condition. À l'origine à balancier (voir photo ci-dessous), le métronome existe désormais en format électronique et est très souvent intégré aux instruments numériques (tels que les pianos numériques par exemple).

Métronome à balancier

Quand et comment utiliser le métronome ? L'utilisation du métronome est pertinente dès que vous avez du mal à garder un tempo stable. À condition de bien le suivre, de bien l'écouter et de ne pas chercher à aller plus vite que la musique ! Certains débutants ont du mal à se caler sur le métronome et se lancent trop vite dans l'exécution d'un passage sans avoir pris le temps de bien sentir la pulsation. Prenez donc le temps de bien ressentir les battements avant de commencer. Il n'est pas non plus nécessaire de fixer le balancier du métronome ou le témoin lumineux d'un métronome électronique. Faites plutôt fonctionner vos oreilles !

Le mouvement métronomique

Le mouvement métronomique se définit en nombre de battements par minutes (bpm). Par exemple, un tempo de 60 bpm correspond à la vitesse de la seconde (car il y a 60 secondes dans une minute). Plus le nombre est élevé, plus le tempo sera rapide. Par exemple, 160 bpm correspond à un tempo très rapide (équivalent d'un Presto).

Sur une partition, le mouvement métronomique est indiqué en rapport à une valeur de note, sous la forme valeur rythmique = x.

Exemple d'indications de mouvement métronomique

 = 60 indique un tempo de 60 bpm et des battements correspondant aux noires.

 = 120 indique un tempo de 120 bpm et des battements correspondant aux noires.

 = 80 indique un tempo de 80 bpm et des battements correspondant aux blanches. Dans ce dernier cas il faudra multiplier par 2 la valeur pour obtenir les battements des noires.  = 80 est donc équivalent à  = 160.

Parfois, les compositeurs donneront plutôt un intervalle entre deux valeurs, comme dans  = 88 ~ 96. Cela signifie qu'il faudra interpréter cette pièce musicale à un tempo se situant entre 88 et 96 bpm.

FIGURE 6 - Exemple d'indication métronomique ( = 40) accompagnant une indication de mouvement Adagio

Dernière mise à jour le 09/03/2017

Impression du cours réservés aux abonnés !

Profitez d'une mise en page de qualité pour l'impression de vos cours favoris en vous abonnant sur www.musiclever.com

Testez vos connaissances !

Maitrisez-vous les concepts abordés dans cette leçon ?
Testez-vous en répondant aux questions de nos Quiz.