This document is for strictly personal use only. No public use may be made, including in the course of teaching, without the prior consent of the author.

Introduction to dynamics

Dynamics are expressions specifying the loudness of a musical passage.

Basic dynamics : piano et forte

A dynamic corresponds to a certain level of sound intensity or loudness. Dynamics can be compared to the brightness of a color. Although there is an infinity of degrees between total darkness and the bright light of the sun, it is necessary for us to fix certain concepts in order to better communicate our intentions. For example, we will speak of a dark color or a light color in order to distinguish between two shades. In the same way, it is necessary to distinguish between soft and strong dynamics.

As often the case in music, it was the Italians of the Renaissance who first formalized these concepts, which is why we will use Italian terms. A soft dynamic will be named piano (meaning soft in Italian), a strong one forte (meaning strong, pronounced fortay).

On a score, the piano dynamic is noted , while the forte is written . Dynamics are always written below the staff, under the first note concerned. As long as a new dynamic is not met, the previous dynamic is still valid.

Example 1
Timpani

Two identical phrases, the first one played , the other one .

FIGURE 1 - Score of the example 1

Example 2

Cello

Two identical phrases, the first one played , the other one .

FIGURE 2 - Score of the example 2

On vocal scores, dynamics are noted above the staff, the space under staff being devolved to the lyrics.

A common mistake among beginners is to confuse the loudness and the tempo, that is the speed of execution of a work. If you find it difficult to tell the difference between these two concepts, think about the way you speak: it's possible to whisper or shout. Whisper is a soft intensity, a soft dynamic (piano in music); shouting corresponding to a strong intensity, a strong dynamic (forte in music). But it is possible to whisper slowly or quickly, as it is possible to shout at different speeds. Speed and intensity are therefore two totally independent notions.

Intermediate dynamics

The and dynamics already provide a first indication of the intensity of a passage or work. In order to expand the range of dynamics available to them, composers have extended the use of these two basic dynamic to other dynamics.

Prefix mezzo

It is possible to complete the dynamic space between piano and forte. For this, composers have introduced the term mezzo, which means in Italian moderately and have thus created two new dynamics: mezzo-piano (moderately soft), noted , and mezzo-forte (moderately loud), noted .

We thus obtain the following range of dynamics, arranged from the softest to the strongest:

Flute

The same phrase declined in 4 dynamic gradations, from to , played on the flute.

Suffix issimo

It is also possible to extend the piano dynamic to even softer ones or the strong dynamic to even stronger ones. The use of the Italian suffix -issimo (very) makes it possible to transform a dynamic term into superlative. Thus, piano becomes pianissimo (very soft), which will be noted by the symbol . It is possible to reinforce this superlative by adding -ssi-, as in pianississimo (very very soft), noted .

Dynamics from pianississimo to piano :

We can of course apply the same method to the strong dynamics, which will give fortissimo (very strong), noted and fortississimo (very very strong), noted .

Dynamics from forte to fortississimo :

In theory, it is possible to add as many or as one would like, but in practice it will rarely be encountered more than two or three. However, some composers like Rachmaninov regularly use or in their works. Ligeti goes up to eight forte!

Summary

Dynamics most commonly encountered, sorted from the softest to the strongest.

Summary table of the most common dynamics
SymbolItalian termOral alternativeMeaning in English
pianissississimoquadruple piano« very very very soft »
pianississimotriple piano« very very soft »
pianissimodouble piano« very soft »
piano-« soft »
mezzo-piano-« moderately soft »
mezzo-forte-« moderately strong »
forte-« strong »
fortissimodouble forte« very strong »
fortississimotriple forte« very very strong »
fortissississimoquadruple forte« very very very strong »

Last update on 2018/12/21

Printing for premium user only !

Print this course with a high quality layout by subscribing at www.musiclever.com

Do you master the concepts discussed in this lesson?

Report a bug or an issue

Ce document est réservé à un usage strictement privé. Aucune utilisation publique ne peut être effectuée, y compris dans le cadre d'un enseignement, sans le consentement préalable de l'auteur.

Les nuances de base

Une nuance est une expression spécifiant l'intensité sonore d'un passage musical.

Le terme « nuance » est privilégié dans la littérature musicale, mais il existe d'autres termes comme la dynamique (qui est un anglissisme dérivé de dynamics) que l'on retrouve dans les logiciels de MAO par exemple.

Nuances de bases : piano et forte

Une nuance correspond à un certain niveau d'intensité sonore. Les nuances peuvent être comparées à la luminosité d'une couleur. Bien qu'il existe une infinité de degrés entre l'obscurité totale et la lumière vive du soleil, il nous est nécessaire de fixer certains concepts afin de mieux communiquer nos intentions. On parlera par exemple de couleur sombre ou de couleur claire afin d'établir une distinction entre deux teintes. De la même manière, il est nécessaire de faire le distinguo entre nuances douces et fortes.

Comme souvent en musique, ce sont les italiens de la Renaissance qui ont les premiers formalisés ces concepts, c'est pourquoi nous utiliserons des termes italiens. Une nuance douce sera nommée piano (« doux » en italien), une nuance forte forte (prononcé « forté »).

Sur une partition, la nuance piano se note , alors que la nuance forte se note . Les nuances se notent toujours en dessous de la portée concernée, sous la première note concernée. Tant qu'une nouvelle nuance n'est pas rencontrée, la nuance précédente est toujours valable.

Exemple 1

EXTRAIT AUDIO - Timbales

Deux phrases identiques, l'une jouée , l'autre .

FIGURE 1 - Partition de l'extrait 1

Exemple 2

EXTRAIT AUDIO - Violoncelle

Deux phrases identiques, l'une jouée , l'autre .

FIGURE 2 - Partition de l'extrait 2

Sur les partitions vocales, les nuances sont exceptionnellement notées au-dessus de la portée, l'espace inférieur de la portée étant dévolu aux paroles.

Une erreur fréquente chez les débutants est de confondre l'intensité sonore et le tempo, c'est-à-dire la vitesse d'exécution d'une œuvre. Si vous avez de la difficulté à faire la différence entre ces deux concepts, pensez à la manière de parler : il est possible de chuchoter ou de crier. Chuchoter correspond à une intensité douce, une nuance douce (piano en musique) ; crier correspondant à une intensité forte, une nuance forte (forte en musique). Mais il est possible de chuchoter lentement ou vite, de même qu'il est possible de crier à différentes vitesses. La vitesse et l'intensité sont donc deux notions totalement indépendantes.

Nuances intermédiaires

Les nuances et offrent déjà une première indication quant à l'intensité d'un passage ou d'une œuvre. Afin d'étoffer l'éventail de nuances à leur disposition, les compositeurs ont étendu l'utilisation de ces deux nuances de bases vers d'autres nuances.

Préfixe mezzo

Il est possible de compléter l'espace des nuances entre piano et forte. Pour cela, les compositeurs ont introduit le terme mezzo, qui signifie en italien « moyennement » et ont ainsi créé deux nouvelles nuances : mezzo-piano (« moyennement doux »), noté , et mezzo-forte (« moyennement fort »), noté .

On obtient ainsi la palette de nuances suivantes, classées de la plus douce à la plus forte :

EXTRAIT AUDIO - Flûte

Une même phrase déclinée en 4 gradations de nuances, de à , à la fûte traversière.

Suffixe issimo

Il est également possible d'étendre la nuance piano vers des nuances encore plus douces ou la nuance forte vers des nuances encore plus forte. L'utilisation du suffixe italien -issimo (« très ») permet de transformer le terme de la nuance en superlatif. Ainsi, piano devient pianissimo (« très doux »), que l'on notera par le symbole . Il est possible de renforcer ce superlatif en ajoutant des -ssi-, comme dans pianississimo (« très très doux »), noté .

Nuances du pianississimo au piano :

On peut bien évidemment appliquer le même procédé à la nuance forte, ce qui donnera fortissimo (« très fort »), noté ou encore fortississimo (« très très fort »), noté .

Nuances du forte au fortississimo :

En théorie, il possible d'ajouter autant de ou de que l'on veut, mais en pratique, on en rencontrera rarement plus de deux ou trois. Cependant, certains compositeurs comme Rachmaninov utilisent régulièrement ou dans leurs œuvres. Ligeti va même jusqu'à huit forte !

Récapitulatif

Nuances les plus communément rencontrées, classées de la plus douce à la plus forte.

Tableau récapitulatif des nuances les plus communes
SymboleTerme italienAlternative oraleSignification en français
pianissississimoquadruple piano« très très très doux »
pianississimotriple piano« très très doux »
pianissimodouble piano« très doux »
piano-« doux »
mezzo-piano-« moyennement doux »
mezzo-forte-« moyennement fort »
forte-« fort »
fortissimodouble forte« très fort »
fortississimotriple forte« très très fort »
fortissississimoquadruple forte« très très très fort »

Dernière mise à jour le 09/12/2016

Impression du cours réservés aux abonnés !

Profitez d'une mise en page de qualité pour l'impression de vos cours favoris en vous abonnant sur www.musiclever.com

Testez vos connaissances !

Maitrisez-vous les concepts abordés dans cette leçon ?
Testez-vous en répondant aux questions de nos Quiz.